Conservatory Admissions

Dates and Locations

Dates and Locations

Auditions are held locally in Oberlin, as well as regional locations around the United States and in Asia.

2015 - 2016 Auditions in Oberlin (sample audition weekend schedule)

December 5, 2015 (Application for Admission due November 1 for this audition only) (Jazz Studies auditions on Friday, December 4)

February 6, 2016

February 13, 2016 (Jazz Studies auditions on Friday, February 12)

February 20, 2016

February 27, 2016 (Jazz Studies auditions on Friday, February 26)

Please note: Certain on-campus audition dates may not be available for some instruments and/or areas of study. These will be indicated in the audition requirements section for that area.

2016 Regional Auditions in the United States*

The below dates are subject to change until the application for admission becomes available September 1.

Atlanta
Monday, February 8 - Tuesday, February 9
Steinway Piano Galleries
5950 North Point Parkway, Suite 130 Alpharetta, GA 30022

Boston
Monday, February 1 - Tuesday, February 2
M. Steinert & Sons
162 Boylston St., Boston, MA 02116

Chicago
Thursday, January 21
Midwest Young Artists
878 Lyster Road, Highwood, IL  60040

Denver
Tuesday, January 12
University Park United Methodist Church
2180 South University, Denver, CO 80210

Houston
Thursday, January 14
St. Paul's United Methodist Church
5501 Main Street, Houston, TX 77004

Interlochen
Saturday, January 23 - Sunday, January 24
Interlochen Center for the Arts
4000 M-137 Highway, Interlochen, MI 49643

Los Angeles 
Tuesday, January 5 - Wednesday, January 6
The Colburn School
200 South Grand, Los Angeles, CA 90012

Minneapolis
Tuesday, January 19
Schmitt Music at Southdale Square
2906 66th Street West, Richfield, MN 55423

New York City
Tuesday, January 26 - Friday, January 29
The National Opera Center
330 Seventh Ave (and 29th St), New York, NY 10001

San Francisco
Friday, January 8 and Sunday, January 10
San Francisco Conservatory
50 Oak St., San Francisco, CA 94102

Seattle
Monday, January 4
University Unitarian Church
6556 35th Avenue NE, Seattle, WA 98115

Washington, DC
Wednesday, February 3
Steinway Piano Gallery
11611 Old Georgetown Rd, Rockville, MD 20852

*Note: regional auditions are not offered in harp, classical percussion, jazz percussion, TIMARA, Composition, and organ.

 

2015 Auditions in Asia

Seoul
Sunday, October 11

SpielenHaus Geumjeong Bldg.,
76-5 (3rd floor) Jamwon-dong, Seocho-gu, Seoul
Contact: Kim, Jihyun (kjhyun5210@gmail.com)

Taipei  
Tuesday, October 13 - Thursday, October 15
Forum Auditorium, #4 Lane, 187 Minzu W. Road
Contact: Nien Yi (fm3@musforum.com.tw)
or FAX 02/2591-5535

Hong Kong 
Friday, October 16
Tommy Lee Foundation, TIN HAU 13/F, Park Commercial Centre, 180 
Tung Lo Wan Road
Contact: Jo Faulmann (jfaulmann@mac.com)

Singapore  
Tuesday, October 20
Kawai Music School (Paragon)
#05--01/03, The Paragon, 238859, Singapore
Contact: Dixie DeSouza (dixie.m.desouza@gmail.com)

Bangkok 
Friday, October 23
Yamaha School
Emporium Department Store, Sukhumvit 24
Contact: Damrih Banawitayakit (damrihoboe@gmail.com)

More information on the USA Music Schools Asian Auditions Above

Oberlin Conservatory of Music Hosted Auditions In China

Please note: For preferred consideration regarding Oberlin admission and scholarship, we highly recommend that applicants who live within 1000 miles of the regional audition sites in China attend one of these sites and audition live.  These auditions will include Admissions Directors from Oberlin Conservatory, Boston University, San Francisco Conservatory, Manhattan School of Music, and Peabody Institute.  Students auditioning regionally in China may also be considered for admission at these other schools, upon submission of each school's application. See the individual school's website for further information on application requirements.

Guangzhou
Sunday, October 25 - Tuesday, October 27
The Music School attached to Xinghai Conservatory of Music

Shanghai
Wednesday, October 28 - Saturday, October 31
Tongji University

Beijing
Tuesday, November 3 - Friday, November 6
China Conservatory of Music

Contact Info:
Mr. Li, Ms. Yi, and Ms. Ge

Tel: 400-872-3533

Address:
Yuehezi International Piano Arts Center,
Olympic Square, XinAo Shopping Center,
Chaoyang Qu, Beijing, China 100101

E-mail: chinaaudition@163.com

Please download application forms from: www.usaschoolsofmusic.org

More information on Oberlin Conservatory of Music Hosted Auditions in China