Primary Contact:
Alvin Chow

Administrative Assistant:
Cindy Shairba

Division Email:

Phone: (440) 775-8198
Fax: (440) 775-8942

Robert Shannon

Robert Shannon

Director, Division of Keyboard Studies
Professor of Piano
(On Leave Spring 2017)

Robert Shannon, Professor of Piano

Contact Information


Bibbins Hall 307
(440) 775-8230

Robert Shannon

Robert Shannon

Photo by Rosen-Jones Photography

Educational Background

  • Bachelor of Music, Oberlin College, 1972
  • Bachelor of Arts, Oberlin College, 1972
  • Master of Arts, Juilliard School, 1973
  • Studied with Klaus Goetze, Arthur Dann, Jack Radunsky, Ania Dorfmann, Dorothy Taubmann and Vladimir Ashkenazy

As a performer, educator, and recording artist, pianist Robert Shannon has traveled across the world performing and teaching a diverse repertoire ranging from Bach to John Adams. In recent seasons he has appeared in Beijing, London, Hamburg, New York, San Francisco, and Caracas. His numerous performances and recordings on the Bridge label of twenty and twenty-first century composers such as George Crumb, Carla Bley and John Harbison have been meet with critical praise, particularly his penetrating interpretations of American composers such as Charles Ives. He appears regularly at the Grand Teton, Tibor Varga and Sacramento American Music festivals, as a guest artist with the Chicago Contemporary Chamber Players and in duo recitals with Haewon Song, his wife and fellow piano professor at the Oberlin Conservatory of Music.

Since 1976, Shannon has been a member of the faculty at the Oberlin Conservatory, where he also currently serves as Director of the Keyboard Studies Division. He is also the founder and director of the Cooper International Competition at Oberlin, one of the most important youth competitions in the world by virtue of the participation of the Cleveland Orchestra.

An Oberlin alumnus of both the conservatory and the college, Shannon earned a Master of Music degree at the Juilliard School. He has studied with Jack Radunsky, Ania Dorfmann, Dorothy Taubman and Vladimir Ashkenazy.