News & Media



Danenberg Honors Recital on April 1 Showcases Top Oberlin Musicians in Early Music, Jazz, and Everything in Between

Mar 19, 2009
OBERLIN, OHIO— The full range of musical excellence found at the Oberlin Conservatory of Music will be on display in Warner Concert Hall on Wednesday, April 1, at 8 p.m., when the Conservatory presents the annual Danenberg Honors Recital. The free concert features student musicians from every division at the Conservatory; this year’s program includes a student composition for violin and electronics, a jazz combo, and a performance of Beethoven’s third string quartet. Admission to the concert is free and tickets are not required. Warner Concert Hall is located within the Conservatory, at 77 West College Street.  The hall is wheelchair accessible, and free parking is available.

“The Honors Recital features the very best students from each division,” says Assistant Dean for Artistic Programming and Operations Gloria Kim. “It’s quite an honor to be selected to perform.”

The April 1 program includes soloists and ensembles chosen by audition or faculty recommendation. Representing the TIMARA (Technology in Music and the Related Arts) department, double-degree student Hunter McCurry will play Violin House, his 2008 composition for violin and electronics. Four Falsehoods, a piece by junior Ran Duan for winds, strings, voice, and piano, is the composition department’s contribution to the program. Featured solo performers include first-year organist Wesley Hall, sophomore Arnie Tanimoto (cello), and seniors Sung Hyun Cho (flute) and Hanmo Qian (piano). Small ensembles will represent the historical performance, chamber music, and jazz studies divisions. The Darwin String Quartet, featuring sophomore Dechopol Kowintaweewat and freshman Eliot Heaton on violins, sophomore Sam Taggart on viola, and Tanimoto on cello, will perform Beethoven’s String Quartet No. 3 in D Major. Violinists Fiona Hughes and Tatiana Chulochnikova, both graduate students in Oberlin’s historical performance division, will perform a selection from Couperin’s L’Imperiale from Les Nations with senior Steuart Pincombe on viola da gamba and sophomore Patrick Jones on harpsichord. Bassist Christopher Mees, a senior who has also appeared at Cleveland’s Nighttown and the Bop Stop, will lead a jazz combo.

The recital is named in memory of Emil Charles Danenberg, a member of the Conservatory piano faculty for 30 years. Danenberg served as Dean of the Conservatory and the 11th President of the College.

The Oberlin Conservatory of Music, founded in 1865 and situated amid the intellectual vitality of Oberlin College since 1867, is the oldest continuously operating conservatory in the United States. The Conservatory is renowned internationally as a professional music school of the highest caliber and has been pronounced a “national treasure” by the Washington Post. Oberlin’s alumni have gone on to achieve illustrious careers in all aspects of the music world. Many of them have attained stature as solo performers, composers, and conductors, among them Jennifer Koh, Steven Isserlis, Denyce Graves, Franco Farina, Christopher Robertson, Lisa Saffer, George Walker, Christopher Rouse, David Zinman, and Robert Spano. All of the members of the contemporary sextet eighth blackbird, most of the members of the International Contemporary Ensemble, and many of the members of Apollo’s Fire are Oberlin alumni. In chamber music, the Miró, Pacifica, Juillard, and Fry Street quartets, among other small ensembles, include Oberlin-trained musicians, who also can be found in major orchestras and opera companies throughout the world. For more information about Oberlin, please visit

Free parking is available throughout the Oberlin campus. Warner Concert Hall is wheelchair accessible. This concert is free and open to the public.

Wednesday, April 1, 2009, 8 p.m.
Warner Concert Hall
77 W. College Street, Oberlin, Ohio
Danenberg Honors Recital

Couperin: Selection from L’Imperiale from Les Nations
Fiona Hughes, Tatiana Chulochnikova, violins; Steuart Pincombe, viola da gamba; Patrick Jones, harpsichord

J. S. Bach: Toccata in F Major, BWV 540a
Wesley Hall, organ

Theobald Boehm: Nel cor più non mi sento, Op. 4    
Sung Hyun Cho, flute
Yerin Kim, piano
Hunter McCurry: Violin House
Hunter McCurry, violin

Franz Liszt: Etudes d'execution transcendante d'apres Paganini, No. 6 in A Minor           
Hanmo Qian, piano

Ran Duan: Four Falsehoods
Lewis Nielson, conductor
Peng Zhou, flute and alto flute
Curt Miller, clarinet and bass clarinet
Lisha Gu, violin
Dylan Messina, cello
Molly Netter, soprano
Ran Duan, piano

Toshiro Mayuzumi: Bunraku (1960)    
Arnie Tanimoto, cello

Beethoven: String Quartet No. 3 Op. 18, No. 3 in D Major, Fourth Movement
Darwin String Quartet: Dechopol Kowintaweewat, Eliot Heaton, violins; Sam Taggart, viola; Arnie Tanimoto, cello

Christopher Mees, bass
Additional jazz studies students TBA

Additional performers and repertoire to be announced; the above listing is not in concert order. Program information will be updated on the Oberlin events calendar.

Media Contact:
Marci Janas, Director of Conservatory Communications
440-775-8328 (office);

Bookmark and Share

Oberlin College
247 W. Lorain St., Suite C
Oberlin, Ohio 44074
(440) 775-8474

Office of Communicatons

The Media Relations division of Oberlin's Office of Communications provides news of the College to the media and the public. We also publicize upcoming events at Oberlin and help journalists, authors, filmmakers, and broadcasters find resources on the Oberlin campus.

Media Relations staff:

Scott Wargo
Director of Media Relations

Amanda Nagy
Assistant to the Director of Media Relations

247 W. Lorain St.
Suite C
Oberlin, OH 44074
Phone: (440) 775-8474
Fax: (440) 775-6907

Conservatory Communications

Conservatory Media Relations staff:

Cathy Partlow Strauss '84
Director of Conservatory Communications

Erich Burnett
Associate Director of Conservatory Communications

39 W. College St.
Oberlin, OH 44074
Phone: (440) 775-8328
Fax: (440) 775-5457