Office of the Dean of Studies

The Office of the Dean of Studies supports students and faculty members in both the College of Arts and Sciences and the Conservatory of Music. The primary goal of the Office of the Dean of Studies is to help students succeed in their college careers and complete their degree programs in a timely way. More specifically, the office coordinates academic advising in the College of Arts and Sciences, advises students, and helps faculty members with advising and academic policy concerns. This office advises students concerning leaves of absence (whether academic, medical, or personal) and other status issues, such as finishing away and withdrawing from the college.

IMPORTANT ACADEMIC DATES and DEADLINES:

Final grades due from faculty to Registrar via PRESTO  Monday, January 2
All incomplete work for the Fall 2016 semester is due to faculty  (no later than) Wednesday, January 4
Final grades available via PRESTO  Wednesday, January 4
Grades for incompletes due from Faculty  Monday, January 9
Academic Standing Committee meets regarding fall semester academic performance  Week of January 16
   
Winter Term 2017  
   
Last day to register for Winter Term 2017  Friday, December 2
Winter Term begins  Tuesday, January 3
Last day to submit changes to Winter Term course information  Friday, January 13
Martin Luther King Jr. Day – no classes  Monday, January 16
Winter Term ends  Wednesday, January 25
Deadline to change credit hours from full to half or change titles of Winter Term projects  Friday, February 3
Deadline to submit individual project reports to faculty  Friday, February 3
Grade reports due from faculty to Registrar  Monday, February 13

Spring Semester 2017

Spring Semester 2017 New student orientation and advising begins

Thursday, January 26

New student registration

Friday, January 27

Residence Halls open for Returning Students

Saturday, January 28

Classes begin, 8:00 a.m.

Monday, January 30

Add/drop begins

Monday, January 30

Continuing & returning student enrollment

Monday, January 30 - Friday, February 3

Add/drop deadline for first-module and full-semester courses

Wednesday, February 8

Deadline for graduating seniors to submit majors/minors/concentration declarations to the Registrar’s Office

Wednesday, February 8

Deadline for transfer of credit due before registration appointments are scheduled

Friday, February 24

Last day to declare P/NP option for first-module courses

Last day to withdraw from a first-module course

Monday, February 27

Last day to apply for an Academic Leave of Absence

Wednesday, March 15

First-Module Classes end

Friday, March 17

Spring Recess

Saturday, March 18 – Sunday, March 26

Registration information available on the web for students (include reg. appt. and any holds) for Fall 2017 semester

Friday, March 24

Online Schedule of Classes available for Fall 2017

Monday, March 27

Second-Module Classes begin, 8:00 a.m.

Monday, March 27

Course Catalog for 2017-2018 available online

Week of March 27

Midterm grades due from faculty via PRESTO

Tuesday, March 28

Midterm grades available for students via PRESTO

Thursday, March 30

Advising for Fall Semester 2017 semester begins

Monday, April 3

Last day to declare P/NP option for full-semester courses

Last day to withdraw from a full-semester course

Last day to change variable-hour courses

Monday, April 3

Add/Drop deadline for second-module courses

Wednesday, April 5

Registration period for Fall 2017 semester

Monday, April 10 - Friday, April 21

Last day to declare P/NP option for second-module courses

Last day to withdraw from a second-module course

Monday, April 24

Classes end

Friday, May 5

Reading period

Saturday, May 6 – Tuesday, May 9

Final examination period begins

Wednesday, May 10

Spring semester ends, noon

Sunday, May 14

Final grades for graduating seniors due from faculty to Registrar, noon

Thursday, May 18

Commencement weekend begins

Friday, May 19

Commencement exercises

Monday, May 22

Final grades for all other students due from faculty to Registrar, 4:30 p.m.

Wednesday, May 24

Final grades available via PRESTO

Friday, May 26

All incomplete work for the Spring 2017 semester is due to faculty

(no later than) Wednesday, May 31

Grades for incompletes due from Faculty

Monday, June 5

Academic Standing Committee meets regarding spring semester academic performance

Week of June 19