$10,000 Rubin Prize in Music Criticism

Rubin Institute Student Fellows

During the 2012 institute, a select group of aspiring young writers (Rubin Institute Student Fellows) from Oberlin wrote reviews of the four Rubin Institute concerts. The institute’s Writers Panel critiqued their work during a series of Public Panel sessions.

On January 22, Jacob Street '12 of North Reading, Massachusetts, was named as the winner of the $10,000 Rubin Prize in Music Criticism. In a surprise turn of events, a $2,500 Honorable Mention was awarded to Megan Emberton '12 of Chelsea, Michigan. Oberlin Conservatory of Music Dean David Stull, Stephen Rubin, and the Writers Panel selected the winners. The prizes will support further study or internships in the field of music criticism, and be disbursed over a two-year period.

The Rubin Prize in Music Criticism is awarded at the end of each biennial session, and made possible by the generosity of Stephen Rubin, president and publisher of Henry Holt & Co.

Pictured above are the 2012 Rubin Institute student fellows. From the left: Jacob Street, Meghan Farnsworth, Chad Putka, Susan Lee, Charlotte Dutton, Sam Rosenberg, Mandy Hogan, Gabe Kanengiser, Megan Emberton, and Matt Young.

Photo by Rosen-Jones Photography