Department Chair:
Martin Thomson-Jones

Administrative Assistant:
Brenda Handley

Department Email:

Phone: 440 775 8390
Fax: 440 775 8084

King Buiding 105
10 North Professor Street
Oberlin, OH, 44074

News and Events

News and Events

Remembering Timothy Hall

Associate Professor of Philosophy Timothy Hall died unexpectedly on Sunday, July 21. Professor Hall was a dedicated and deeply engaged teacher as well as an accomplished philosopher. Tim joined the Oberlin philosophy department in 2001 and received tenure in 2007. He taught a wide range of courses in normative ethics, applied ethics, and political and legal philosophy. His research focused on the relation between self-ownership and property rights. Read his important article, "Doing Harm, Allowing Harm, and Denying Resources," reprinted in the 2011 anthology, Ethics and Moral Philosophy (ed. Thom Brooks, Leiden). Recently, he gave a lively and well-attended talk at Utica College on gun rights. (Watch the video.) Tim will be remembered for his dynamic teaching, his sharp wit, and his great passion for philosophy.

Browse the philosophy department Facebook page for more information.

Philosophy 2017 grads


Dahl Philosophy Prize

The Dahl Philosophy Prize is given “to recognize and encourage outstanding work in philosophy by undergraduates at Oberlin College.” The endowed Dahl Philosophy Prize Fund was established by members and friends of the Dahl family, and its prize is awarded annually by the Department of Philosophy.

Nancy K. Rhoden Memorial Essay Contest

The Nancy K. Rhoden Memorial Fund was established in 1990 to celebrate the achievements of Nancy Rhoden (OC ’74) in the fields of ethics — particularly medical ethics — and law. It is administered by the Philosophy Department, where Nancy Rhoden majored. Since it was established, the Fund has annually supported visiting speakers and an essay contest.


The Philosophy department is pleased to announce that Evelyn Wagaman is the winner of the Christopher Dahl Essay contest for her submission "In Defense of the (Revised?) Subjective View of Consent".  Evelyn Wagaman is also the winner of the Nancy K. Rhoden Prize for her essay "A Role in the (Literal) Hay: Addressing the Inability to Consent Objection". Congratulations to Evelyn!