Faculty

Conservatory Faculty by Department

Conservatory Faculty by Department
Composition

Stephen Hartke

Stephen Hartke
Professor of Composition
Chair, Department of Composition
Phone: (440) 775-8073
stephen.hartke@oberlin.edu
Read More

Aaron Helgeson

Aaron Helgeson
Clinical Assistant Professor of Composition Phone: (440) 775-5238
aaron.helgeson@oberlin.edu
Read More

Jesse Jones

Jesse Jones
Assistant Professor of Composition Phone: (440) 775-8200
jessejonescomposer@gmail.com
Read More

Elizabeth Ogonek

Elizabeth Ogonek
Assistant Professor of Composition Phone: (440) 775-8074
elizabeth.ogonek@oberlin.edu
Read More

Tim Weiss

Tim Weiss
Director, Division of Contemporary Music
Professor of Conducting
Director, Contemporary Music Ensemble
Phone: (440) 775-8295
tim.weiss@oberlin.edu
Read More

Conducting and Ensembles

Raphael Jiménez

Raphael Jiménez
Director, Division of Conducting and Ensembles
Associate Professor of Conducting
Director, Oberlin Orchestras
Phone: (440) 775-8228
Raphael.Jimenez@oberlin.edu
Read More

Philip Highfill

Philip Highfill
Professor of Accompanying and Coaching
Director, Oberlin Arts & Sciences Orchestra
(On Leave 2015-16)
Phone: (440) 775-8226
Philip.Highfill@oberlin.edu
Read More

Gregory Ristow

Gregory Ristow
Director of Vocal Ensembles
Assistant Professor of Conducting
Phone: (440) 775-8068
gristow@oberlin.edu
Read More

Robert Spano

Robert Spano
Professor of Conducting
(On leave 2015-2016)
Read More

Tim Weiss

Tim Weiss
Director, Division of Contemporary Music
Professor of Conducting
Director, Contemporary Music Ensemble
Phone: (440) 775-8295
tim.weiss@oberlin.edu
Read More

Historical Performance

David Breitman

David Breitman
Director, Historical Performance Program
Associate Professor of Historical Performance
Phone: (440) 775-8215
David.Breitman@oberlin.edu
Read More

James David Christie

James David Christie
Professor of Organ
Chair, Organ Department
Phone: (440) 775-8255
James.David.Christie@oberlin.edu
Read More

Mark Edwards

Mark Edwards
Assistant Professor of Harpsichord Phone: (440) 775-8200
Read More

Michael Lynn

Michael Lynn
Professor of Recorder & Baroque Flute
Curator of Musical Instruments Emeritus
Phone: (440) 775-8225
Michael.Lynn@oberlin.edu
Read More

Mike Manderen

Mike Manderen
Director of Conservatory Admissions
Lecturer in Guitar and Lute
Phone: (440) 775-8413
Michael.Manderen@oberlin.edu
Read More

Marilyn McDonald

Marilyn McDonald
Professor of Violin and Baroque Violin Phone: (440) 775-8207
Marilyn.McDonald@oberlin.edu
Read More

Catharina Meints

Catharina Meints
Associate Professor of Viola da Gamba and Cello Phone: (440) 775-8268
Cathy.Meints@oberlin.edu
Read More

Kathryn Montoya

Kathryn Montoya
Assistant Professor of Recorder
and Baroque Oboe
Phone: (440) 775-6688
Kathryn.Montoya@oberlin.edu
Read More

Jonathan Moyer

Jonathan Moyer
Assistant Professor of Organ Phone: (440) 775-8210
jonathan.moyer@oberlin.edu
Read More

S.E. Plank

S.E. Plank
Director, Division of Musicology
Andrew B. Meldrum Professor of Musicology
Director, Collegium Musicum
Phone: (440) 775-8237
Steven.Plank@oberlin.edu
Read More

Kathie Lynn Stewart

Kathie Lynn Stewart
Curator of Harpsichords Phone: (440) 775-8809
Kathie.Lynn@oberlin.edu
Read More

Webb Wiggins

Webb Wiggins
Associate Professor of Harpsichord Phone: (440) 775-8216
Webb.Wiggins@oberlin.edu
Read More

Jazz Studies

Jay Ashby

Jay Ashby
Associate Professor of Jazz Arranging Phone: (440) 775-6172
Jay.Ashby@oberlin.edu
Read More

Gary Bartz

Gary Bartz
Professor of Jazz Saxophone Phone: (440) 775-5619
Gary.Bartz@oberlin.edu
Read More

Peter Dominguez

Peter Dominguez
Professor of Jazz Studies and Double Bass Phone: (440) 775-8109
Peter.Dominguez@oberlin.edu
Read More

Robin Eubanks

Robin Eubanks
Associate Professor of Jazz Trombone and Jazz Composition Phone: (440) 775-8292
Robin.Eubanks@oberlin.edu
Read More

Bobby Ferrazza

Bobby Ferrazza
Director, Division of Jazz Studies
Professor of Jazz Guitar
Phone: (440) 775-8274
Robert.Ferrazza@oberlin.edu
Read More

Jamey Haddad

Jamey Haddad
Professor of Advanced Improvisation and Percussion Phone: (440) 775-8200
Jamey.Haddad@oberlin.edu
Read More

La Tanya Hall

La Tanya Hall
Teacher of Jazz Voice Phone: (440) 775-8200
Read More

Billy Hart

Billy Hart
Associate Professor of Jazz Percussion Phone: (440) 775-5244
Billy.Hart@oberlin.edu
Read More

Eddie Henderson

Eddie Henderson
Visiting Teacher of Jazz Trumpet Phone: (440) 775-5157
jazz.studies@oberlin.edu
Read More

Dennis Reynolds

Dennis Reynolds
Director, Oberlin Jazz Ensemble Phone: (440) 775-6675
Dennis.Reynolds@oberlin.edu
Read More

Paul Samuels

Paul Samuels
Visiting Teacher of Jazz Studies Phone: (440) 775-6675
Paul.Samuels@oberlin.edu
Read More

Dan Wall

Dan Wall
Associate Professor of Jazz Piano Phone: (440) 775-8791
Daniel.Wall@oberlin.edu
Read More

Music Education

David Eddleman

David Eddleman
Visiting Teacher of Music Education Phone: (440) 775-8297
David.Eddleman@oberlin.edu
Read More

Joanne Erwin

Joanne Erwin
Professor of Music Education Phone: (440) 775-8208
joanne.erwin@oberlin.edu
Read More

Jody Kerchner

Jody Kerchner
Director, Division of Music Education
Professor of Music Education
Phone: (440) 775-8267
Jody.Kerchner@oberlin.edu
Read More

Pam Radke

Pam Radke
Coordinator, Field Experiences Phone: (440) 775-8297
Pam.Radke@oberlin.edu
Read More

Louise Zeitlin

Louise Zeitlin
Associate Professor of Community Engagement
Director, Community Music School
Phone: (440) 775-8531
Louise.Zeitlin@oberlin.edu
Read More

Music Theory

Brian Alegant

Brian Alegant
Director, Division of Music Theory
Barker Professor of Music Theory
Phone: (440) 775-8244
Brian.Alegant@oberlin.edu
Read More

Allen Cadwallader

Allen Cadwallader
Professor of Music Theory Phone: (440) 775-8220
Allen.Cadwallader@oberlin.edu
Read More

Arnie Cox

Arnie Cox
Associate Professor of Music Theory Phone: (440) 775-8945
Arnie.Cox@oberlin.edu
Read More

Ben Geyer

Visiting Instructor of Music Theory Phone: (440) 775-6631
bgeyer@oberlin.edu
Read More

Jared Hartt

Jared Hartt
Associate Professor of Music Theory Phone: (440) 775-8243
Jared.Hartt@oberlin.edu
Read More

David Heetderks

David Heetderks
Assistant Professor of Music Theory Phone: (440) 775-8811
David.Heetderks@oberlin.edu
Read More

Sigrun Heinzelmann

Sigrun Heinzelmann
Associate Professor of Music Theory Phone: (440) 775-6957
Sigrun.Heinzelmann@oberlin.edu
Read More

Megan Kaes Long

Megan Kaes Long
Assistant Professor of Music Theory Phone: (440) 775-8247
megan.long@oberlin.edu
Read More

Rebecca Leydon

Rebecca Leydon
Associate Professor of Music Theory Phone: (440) 775-8205
Rebecca.Leydon@oberlin.edu
Read More

Joseph Lubben

Joseph Lubben
Associate Professor of Music Theory Phone: (440) 775-8239
Joseph.Lubben@oberlin.edu
Read More

Jan Miyake

Jan Miyake
Associate Professor of Music Theory Phone: (440) 775-8236
Jan.Miyake@oberlin.edu
Read More

Andrew Pau

Andrew Pau
Assistant Professor of Music Theory Phone: (440) 775-8491
Andrew.Pau@oberlin.edu
Read More

Musicology

Jennifer Fraser

Jennifer Fraser
Associate Professor of Ethnomusicology and Anthropology Phone: (440) 775-6904
Jennifer.Fraser@oberlin.edu
Read More

Rebecca Fülöp

Visiting Assistant Professor of Musicology Phone: (440) 775-8065
rfulop@oberlin.edu
Read More

Sarah Gerk

Visiting Assistant Professor of Musicology Phone: (440) 775-8064
sgerk@oberlin.edu
Read More

Fredara Hadley

Fredara Hadley
Visiting Assistant Professor of Ethnomusicology Phone: (440) 775-8233
fhadley@oberlin.edu
Read More

Claudia Macdonald

Professor of Musicology
(On Leave 2015-16)
Phone: (440) 775-6959
Claudia.Macdonald@oberlin.edu
Read More

Charles McGuire

Charles McGuire
Professor of Musicology
(On Leave 2015-16)
Phone: (440) 775-8252
Charles.McGuire@oberlin.edu
Read More

James O'Leary

James O'Leary
Frederick R. Selch Assistant Professor of Musicology
(On Leave 2015-16)
Phone: (440) 775-8258
James.OLeary@oberlin.edu
Read More

S.E. Plank

S.E. Plank
Director, Division of Musicology
Andrew B. Meldrum Professor of Musicology
Director, Collegium Musicum
Phone: (440) 775-8237
Steven.Plank@oberlin.edu
Read More

Julius Reder Carlson

Visiting Assistant Professor of Musicology Phone: (440) 775-8063
jrederca@oberlin.edu
Read More

Organ

James David Christie

James David Christie
Professor of Organ
Chair, Organ Department
Phone: (440) 775-8255
James.David.Christie@oberlin.edu
Read More

Jonathan Moyer

Jonathan Moyer
Assistant Professor of Organ Phone: (440) 775-8210
jonathan.moyer@oberlin.edu
Read More

Piano

Bretton Brown

Bretton Brown
Visiting Assistant Professor of Collaborative Piano Phone: (440) 775-8070
bbrown2@oberlin.edu
Read More

Angela Cheng

Angela Cheng
Professor of Piano Phone: (440) 775-8820
Angela.Cheng@oberlin.edu
Read More

Alvin Chow

Alvin Chow
Ruth Strickland Gardner Professor of Piano
Chair, Piano Department
Phone: (440) 775-8217
Alvin.Chow@oberlin.edu
Read More

Monique Duphil

Monique Duphil
Professor of Piano Phone: (440) 775-8214
Monique.Duphil@oberlin.edu
Read More

Javier Gonzalez

Javier Gonzalez
Collaborative Pianist Phone: (440) 775-6170
Javier.Gonzalez@oberlin.edu
Read More

Philip Highfill

Philip Highfill
Professor of Accompanying and Coaching
Director, Oberlin Arts & Sciences Orchestra
(On Leave 2015-16)
Phone: (440) 775-8226
Philip.Highfill@oberlin.edu
Read More

James Howsmon

James Howsmon
Professor of Instrumental Accompanying Phone: (440) 775-8689
James.Howsmon@oberlin.edu
Read More

Andrea McAlister

Andrea McAlister
Associate Professor of Piano Pedagogy
(On Leave Spring 2016)
Phone: (440) 775-6155
Andrea.McAlister@oberlin.edu
Read More

Daniel Michalak

Daniel Michalak
Vocal Coach/Accompanist Phone: (440) 775-6498
Daniel.Michalak@oberlin.edu
Read More

William Grant Naboré

William Grant Naboré
Artistic Director, Oberlin-Como Piano Academy
Visiting Teacher in Residence
Read More

Matti Raekallio

Matti Raekallio
Professor of Piano Phone: (440) 775-8200
Read More

Robert Shannon

Robert Shannon
Director, Division of Keyboard Studies
Professor of Piano
Phone: (440) 775-8230
Robert.Shannon@oberlin.edu
Read More

Haewon Song

Haewon Song
Professor of Piano Phone: (440) 775-8264
Haewon.Song@oberlin.edu
Read More

Yuying (Allie) Su

Yuying (Allie) Su
Collaborative Pianist/Instrumental Accompanying Phone: (440) 775-6992
Allie.Su@oberlin.edu
Read More

Peter Takács

Peter Takács
Professor of Piano Phone: (440) 775-8245
Peter.Takacs@oberlin.edu
Read More

Strings

Darrett Adkins

Darrett Adkins
Associate Professor of Cello Phone: (440) 775-8256
Darrett.Adkins@oberlin.edu
Read More

Stephen Aron

Stephen Aron
Teacher of Classical Guitar Phone: (440) 775-6468
Stephen.Aron@oberlin.edu
Read More

David Bowlin

David Bowlin
Associate Professor of Violin Phone: (440) 775-8221
David.Bowlin@oberlin.edu
Read More

Jinjoo Cho

Jinjoo Cho
Teacher of Violin Phone: (440) 775-8198
jcho2@oberlin.edu
Read More

Scott Dixon

Scott Dixon
Teacher of Double Bass Scott.Dixon@oberlin.edu
Read More

Kirsten Docter

Kirsten Docter
Associate Professor of Viola Phone: (440) 775-8200
kirsten.docter@oberlin.edu
Read More

Peter Dominguez

Peter Dominguez
Professor of Jazz Studies and Double Bass Phone: (440) 775-8109
Peter.Dominguez@oberlin.edu
Read More

Amir Eldan

Amir Eldan
Director, Division of Strings
Associate Professor of Cello
Phone: (440) 775-8248
Amir.Eldan@oberlin.edu
Read More

Gregory Fulkerson

Gregory Fulkerson
Professor of Violin Phone: (440) 775-8251
Greg.Fulkerson@oberlin.edu
Read More

Yolanda Kondonassis

Yolanda Kondonassis
Assistant Professor of Harp Phone: (440) 775-8033
ykondonassis@aol.com
Read More

Marilyn McDonald

Marilyn McDonald
Professor of Violin and Baroque Violin Phone: (440) 775-8207
Marilyn.McDonald@oberlin.edu
Read More

Catharina Meints

Catharina Meints
Associate Professor of Viola da Gamba and Cello Phone: (440) 775-8268
Cathy.Meints@oberlin.edu
Read More

Merry Peckham

Merry Peckham
Teacher of Chamber Music
Coordinator of String Chamber Music
Phone: (440) 775-8200
merry.peckham@oberlin.edu
Read More

Tracy Rowell

Tracy Rowell
Teacher of Double Bass Phone: (440) 775-8198
Tracy.Rowell@oberlin.edu
Read More

Peter Slowik

Peter Slowik
Robert W. Wheeler Professor of Viola Phone: (440) 775-8235
peter.slowik@oberlin.edu
Read More

Michael Isaac Strauss

Michael Isaac Strauss
Associate Professor of Viola and Chamber Music Phone: (440) 775-8241
Michael.Strauss@oberlin.edu
Read More

Milan Vitek

Milan Vitek
Professor of Violin Phone: (440) 775-8218
Milan.Vitek@oberlin.edu
Read More

Derek Zadinsky

Derek Zadinsky
Teacher of Double Bass derekzadinsky@gmail.com
Read More

Calder Quartet

Calder Quartet
Quartet in Residence Phone: (440) 775-8200
Read More

TIMARA

Aurie Hsu

Visiting Assistant Professor of TIMARA Phone: (440) 775-8076
ahsu@oberlin.edu
Read More

Thomas Handman (Tom) Lopez

Thomas Handman (Tom) Lopez
Associate Professor of Computer Music and Digital Arts
Chair, Composition and TIMARA
(On Leave 2015-16)
Phone: (440) 775-8748
Tom.Lopez@oberlin.edu
Read More

Joo Won Park

Joo Won Park
Visiting Assistant Professor of Technology in Music and Related Arts (TIMARA) Phone: (440) 775-8232
joo.won.park@oberlin.edu
Read More

Peter Swendsen

Peter Swendsen
Assistant Professor of Computer Music and Digital Arts
Chair, TIMARA
Phone: (440) 775-8223
Peter.Swendsen@oberlin.edu
Read More

John Talbert

Electronic Music Engineer Phone: (440) 775-8900
John.Talbert@oberlin.edu
Read More

Tim Weiss

Tim Weiss
Director, Division of Contemporary Music
Professor of Conducting
Director, Contemporary Music Ensemble
Phone: (440) 775-8295
tim.weiss@oberlin.edu
Read More

Vocal Studies

Thomas Bandy

Thomas Bandy
Opera Coach/Musical Coordinator of Opera Productions Phone: (440) 775-8446
Thomas.Bandy@oberlin.edu
Read More

Tony Cho

Tony Cho
Opera Coach Phone: (440) 775-8071
tcho@oberlin.edu
Read More

Salvatore Champagne

Salvatore Champagne
Director, Division of Vocal Studies
Professor of Singing
Phone: (440) 775-8175
Salvatore.Champagne@oberlin.edu
Read More

Kendra Colton

Kendra Colton
Assistant Professor of Singing Phone: (440) 775-8240
Kendra.Colton@oberlin.edu
Read More

Jonathon Field

Jonathon Field
Associate Professor of Opera Theater
Director of Opera Theater Productions
Phone: (440) 775-8206
Jonathon.Field@oberlin.edu
Read More

Philip Highfill

Philip Highfill
Professor of Accompanying and Coaching
Director, Oberlin Arts & Sciences Orchestra
(On Leave 2015-16)
Phone: (440) 775-8226
Philip.Highfill@oberlin.edu
Read More

Timothy LeFebvre

Timothy LeFebvre
Associate Professor of Singing Phone: (440) 775-8213
Timothy.LeFebvre@oberlin.edu
Read More

Daune Mahy

Daune Mahy
Professor of Singing Phone: (440) 775-8212
Daune.Mahy@oberlin.edu
Read More

Lorraine Manz

Lorraine Manz
Professor of Singing
Director, Otto B. Schoepfle Vocal Arts Center
Phone: (440) 775-8209
Lorraine.Manz@oberlin.edu
Read More

Daniel Michalak

Daniel Michalak
Vocal Coach/Accompanist Phone: (440) 775-6498
Daniel.Michalak@oberlin.edu
Read More

Marlene Rosen

Marlene Rosen
Professor of Singing Phone: (440) 775-8224
Marlene.Rosen@oberlin.edu
Read More

Sally Stunkel

Sally Stunkel
Associate Professor of Opera Theater Phone: (440) 775-8227
Sally.Stunkel@oberlin.edu
Read More

Woodwinds, Brass, and Percussion

Lee Allen

Lee Allen
Assistant Professor of Trombone Phone: (440) 775-8262
lee.allen@oberlin.edu
Read More

Richard Hawkins

Richard Hawkins
Fenelon B. Rice Professor of Clarinet Phone: (440) 775-8234
Richard.Hawkins@oberlin.edu
Read More

Dennis Nulty

Dennis Nulty
Teacher of Tuba Phone: (440) 775-8200
dennis.nulty@oberlin.edu
Read More

Roland Pandolfi

Roland Pandolfi
Professor of Horn Phone: (440) 775-8246
Roland.Pandolfi@oberlin.edu
Read More

Roy Poper

Roy Poper
Associate Professor of Trumpet Phone: (440) 775-8222
Roy.Poper@oberlin.edu
Read More

Mike Rosen

Mike Rosen
Director, Division of Woodwinds, Brass and Percussion
Professor of Percussion
Phone: (440) 775-8271
Michael.Rosen@oberlin.edu
Read More

George Sakakeeny

George Sakakeeny
Professor of Bassoon Phone: (440) 775-8242
George.Sakakeeny@oberlin.edu
Read More

Alexa Still

Alexa Still
Associate Professor of Flute Phone: (440) 775-8260
Alexa.Still@oberlin.edu
Read More

Robert Walters

Robert Walters
Professor of Oboe and English Horn
(On leave spring 2016)
Phone: (440) 775-8211
Robert.Walters@oberlin.edu
Read More