Faculty

Faculty

Faculty
Composition

Aaron Helgeson

Visiting Assistant Professor of Composition Phone: (440) 775-5238
aaron.helgeson@oberlin.edu
Read More

Josh Levine

Assistant Professor of Composition Phone: (440) 775-5286
Josh.Levine@oberlin.edu
Read More

George Lewis

Composer in Residence (2013-14) Phone: (440) 775-8233
george.lewis@oberlin.edu
Read More

Lewis Nielson

Professor of Composition
Chair, Composition Department
Phone: (440) 775-6297
Lewis.Nielson@oberlin.edu
Read More



Conducting and Ensembles

Jason Harris

Assistant Professor of Choral Conducting
Director of Choral Ensembles
Jason.Harris@oberlin.edu
Read More

Philip Highfill

Professor of Accompanying and Coaching
Director, Oberlin Arts & Sciences Orchestra
Phone: (440) 775-8226
Philip.Highfill@oberlin.edu
Read More

Raphael Jiménez

Director, Division of Conducting and Ensembles
Director, Oberlin Orchestras
Associate Professor of Conducting
Phone: (440) 775-8228
Raphael.Jimenez@oberlin.edu
Read More

Robert Spano

Professor of Conducting
On leave 2013-2014
Read More

Tim Weiss

Professor of Conducting
Director, Contemporary Music Ensemble
Phone: (440) 775-8295
Tim.Weiss@oberlin.edu
Read More



Historical Performance

David Breitman

Director, Historical Performance Program
Associate Professor of Historical Performance
Phone: (440) 775-8215
David.Breitman@oberlin.edu
Read More

James David Christie

Professor of Organ
Chair, Organ Department
Phone: (440) 775-8255
James.David.Christie@oberlin.edu
Read More

Michael Lynn

Professor of Recorder & Baroque Flute Phone: (440) 775-8225
Michael.Lynn@oberlin.edu
Read More

Mike Manderen

Director of Conservatory Admissions
Lecturer in Guitar and Lute
Phone: (440) 775-8413
Michael.Manderen@oberlin.edu
Read More

Marilyn McDonald

Professor of Violin and Baroque Violin Phone: (440) 775-8207
Marilyn.McDonald@oberlin.edu
Read More

Catharina Meints

Associate Professor of Viola da Gamba and Cello Phone: (440) 775-8268
Cathy.Meints@oberlin.edu
Read More

Kathryn Montoya

Assistant Professor of Recorder
and Baroque Oboe
Phone: (440) 775-6688
Kathryn.Montoya@oberlin.edu
Read More

Jonathan Moyer

Assistant Professor of Organ Phone: (440) 775-8210
jonathan.moyer@oberlin.edu
Read More

S.E. Plank

Director, Division of Musicology
Andrew E. Meldrum Professor of Musicology
Director, Collegium Musicum
Phone: (440) 775-8237
Steven.Plank@oberlin.edu
Read More

Kathie Lynn Stewart

Teacher of Baroque Flute
Curator of Harpsichords
Phone: (440) 775-8809
Kathie.Lynn@oberlin.edu
Read More

Webb Wiggins

Associate Professor of Harpsichord Phone: (440) 775-8216
Webb.Wiggins@oberlin.edu
Read More



Jazz Studies

Jay Ashby

Associate Professor of Jazz Arranging Phone: (440) 775-6675
Jay.Ashby@oberlin.edu
Read More

Gary Bartz

Professor of Jazz Saxophone Phone: (440) 775-6675
Gary.Bartz@oberlin.edu
Read More

Peter Dominguez

Professor of Jazz Studies and Double Bass Phone: (440) 775-8109
Peter.Dominguez@oberlin.edu
Read More

Robin Eubanks

Associate Professor of Jazz Trombone and Jazz Composition Phone: (440) 775-8292
Robin.Eubanks@oberlin.edu
Read More

Bobby Ferrazza

Director, Division of Jazz Studies
Professor of Jazz Guitar
Phone: (440) 775-8274
Robert.Ferrazza@oberlin.edu
Read More

Jamey Haddad

Professor of Advanced Improvisation and Percussion Phone: (440) 775-8200
Jamey.Haddad@oberlin.edu
Read More

Billy Hart

Associate Professor of Jazz Percussion Phone: (440) 775-5244
Billy.Hart@oberlin.edu
Read More

Sean Jones

Assistant Professor of Jazz Trumpet Phone: (440) 775-5157
Read More

Dennis Reynolds

Director, Oberlin Jazz Ensemble Phone: (440) 775-6675
dennis.reynolds@oberlin.edu
Read More

Paul Samuels

Visiting Teacher of Jazz Studies Phone: (440) 775-6675
Paul.Samuels@oberlin.edu
Read More

Dan Wall

Associate Professor of Jazz Piano Phone: (440) 775-8791
Daniel.Wall@oberlin.edu
Read More



Music Education

Peggy Bennett

Professor of Music Education Phone: (440) 775-8947
Peggy.Bennett@oberlin.edu
Read More

David Eddleman

Visiting Teacher of Music Education Phone: (440) 775-8297
David.Eddleman@oberlin.edu
Read More

Joanne Erwin

Professor of Music Education Phone: (440) 775-8208
joanne.erwin@oberlin.edu
Read More

Jody Kerchner

Director, Division of Music Education
Professor of Music Education
Phone: (440) 775-8267
Jody.Kerchner@oberlin.edu
Read More

Pam Radke

Coordinator, Field Experiences Phone: (440) 775-8297
Pam.Radke@oberlin.edu
Read More



Musicology

Jennifer Fraser

Associate Professor of Ethnomusicology and Anthropology Phone: (440) 775-6904
Jennifer.Fraser@oberlin.edu
Read More

Claudia Macdonald

Professor of Musicology Phone: (440) 775-6959
Claudia.Macdonald@oberlin.edu
Read More

Charles McGuire

Professor of Musicology Phone: (440) 775-8252
Charles.McGuire@oberlin.edu
Read More

James O'Leary

Frederick R. Selch Assistant Professor of Musicology Phone: (440) 775-8258
James.OLeary@oberlin.edu
Read More

S.E. Plank

Director, Division of Musicology
Andrew E. Meldrum Professor of Musicology
Director, Collegium Musicum
Phone: (440) 775-8237
Steven.Plank@oberlin.edu
Read More



Music Theory

Brian Alegant

Barker Professor of Music Theory
(On Leave 2013-14)
Phone: (440) 775-8244
Brian.Alegant@oberlin.edu
Read More

Allen Cadwallader

Professor of Music Theory Phone: (440) 775-8220
Allen.Cadwallader@oberlin.edu
Read More

Arnie Cox

Director, Division of Music Theory
Associate Professor of Music Theory
Phone: (440) 775-8945
Arnie.Cox@oberlin.edu
Read More

Warren Darcy

Professor of Music Theory Phone: (440) 775-8247
Warren.Darcy@oberlin.edu
Read More

Jared Hartt

Associate Professor of Music Theory
(On Leave Spring 2014)
Phone: (440) 775-8243
Jared.Hartt@oberlin.edu
Read More

David Heetderks

Assistant Professor of Music Theory David.Heetderks@oberlin.edu
Read More

Sigrun Heinzelmann

Associate Professor of Music Theory Phone: (440) 775-6957
Sigrun.Heinzelmann@oberlin.edu
Read More

Rebecca Leydon

Associate Professor of Music Theory Phone: (440) 775-8205
Rebecca.Leydon@oberlin.edu
Read More

Joseph Lubben

Associate Professor of Music Theory Phone: (440) 775-8239
Joseph.Lubben@oberlin.edu
Read More

Jan Miyake

Associate Dean of Academic Affairs
Associate Professor of Music Theory
Phone: (440) 775-8200
Jan.Miyake@oberlin.edu
Read More

Andrew Pau

Assistant Professor of Music Theory Phone: (440) 775-8491
Andrew.Pau@oberlin.edu
Read More



Organ

James David Christie

Professor of Organ
Chair, Organ Department
Phone: (440) 775-8255
James.David.Christie@oberlin.edu
Read More

Jonathan Moyer

Assistant Professor of Organ Phone: (440) 775-8210
jonathan.moyer@oberlin.edu
Read More



Piano

Angela Cheng

Associate Professor of Piano
(On Leave Spring 2014)
Phone: (440) 775-8820
Angela.Cheng@oberlin.edu
Read More

Alvin Chow

Ruth Strickland Gardner Associate Professor of Piano
Chair, Piano Department (Spring 2014)
(On Leave Fall 2013)
Phone: (440) 775-8217
Alvin.Chow@oberlin.edu
Read More

Monique Duphil

Professor of Piano
(On Leave Fall 2013)
Phone: (440) 775-8214
Monique.Duphil@oberlin.edu
Read More

Philip Highfill

Professor of Accompanying and Coaching
Director, Oberlin Arts & Sciences Orchestra
Phone: (440) 775-8226
Philip.Highfill@oberlin.edu
Read More

James Howsmon

Professor of Instrumental Accompanying Phone: (440) 775-8689
James.Howsmon@oberlin.edu
Read More

Sanford Margolis

Professor of Piano Phone: (440) 775-8281
Sanford.Margolis@oberlin.edu
Read More

Andrea McAlister

Associate Professor of Piano Pedagogy Phone: (440) 775-6155
Andrea.McAlister@oberlin.edu
Read More

Robert Shannon

Director, Division of Keyboard Studies
Professor of Piano
Chair, Piano Department (Fall 2013)
Phone: (440) 775-8230
Robert.Shannon@oberlin.edu
Read More

Haewon Song

Associate Professor of Piano Phone: (440) 775-8264
Haewon.Song@oberlin.edu
Read More

Yuying (Allie) Su

Collaborative Pianist/Instrumental Accompanying Allie.Su@oberlin.edu
Read More

Peter Takács

Professor of Piano Phone: (440) 775-8245
Peter.Takacs@oberlin.edu
Read More



Strings

Jupiter String Quartet

Quartet-in-Residence Read More

Darrett Adkins

Associate Professor of Cello Phone: (440) 775-8256
Darrett.Adkins@oberlin.edu
Read More

Stephen Aron

Teacher of Classical Guitar Phone: (440) 775-6468
Stephen.Aron@oberlin.edu
Read More

David Bowlin

Assistant Professor of Violin Phone: (440) 775-8221
David.Bowlin@oberlin.edu
Read More

Scott Dixon

Teacher of Double Bass Scott.Dixon@oberlin.edu
Read More

Peter Dominguez

Professor of Jazz Studies and Double Bass Phone: (440) 775-8109
Peter.Dominguez@oberlin.edu
Read More

Amir Eldan

Associate Professor of Cello Phone: (440) 775-8248
Amir.Eldan@oberlin.edu
Read More

Greg Fulkerson

Professor of Violin Phone: (440) 775-8251
Greg.Fulkerson@oberlin.edu
Read More

Benjamin Hudson

Visiting Teacher of Violin and Baroque Violin,
Visiting Director of the Oberlin Baroque Orchestra
bhudson@oberlin.edu
Read More

Yolanda Kondonassis

Assistant Professor of Harp Phone: (440) 775-8033
ykondonassis@aol.com
Read More

Marilyn McDonald

Professor of Violin and Baroque Violin Phone: (440) 775-8207
Marilyn.McDonald@oberlin.edu
Read More

Catharina Meints

Associate Professor of Viola da Gamba and Cello Phone: (440) 775-8268
Cathy.Meints@oberlin.edu
Read More

Tracy Rowell

Teacher of Double Bass Phone: (440) 775-8198
Tracy.Rowell@oberlin.edu
Read More

Peter Slowik

Director, Division of Strings
Robert W. Wheeler Professor of Viola
Phone: (440) 775-8235
peter.slowik@oberlin.edu
Read More

Thomas Sperl

Teacher of Double Bass Phone: (440) 775-6956
Thomas.Sperl@oberlin.edu
Read More

Michael Isaac Strauss

Associate Professor of Viola and Chamber Music Phone: (440) 775-8241
Michael.Strauss@oberlin.edu
Read More

Milan Vitek

Professor of Violin Phone: (440) 775-8218
Milan.Vitek@oberlin.edu
Read More



TIMARA

Sharol (Lyn) Goeringer

Visiting Assistant Professor of Computer Music and Digital Arts Lyn.Goeringer@oberlin.edu
Read More

Thomas Handman (Tom) Lopez

Associate Professor of Computer Music and Digital Arts
Chair, Composition and Technology in Music and Related Arts (TIMARA)
Phone: (440) 775-8748
Tom.Lopez@oberlin.edu
Read More

Peter Swendsen

Assistant Professor of Computer Music and Digital Arts Phone: (440) 775-8223
Peter.Swendsen@oberlin.edu
Read More

John Talbert

Electronic Music Engineer Phone: (440) 775-8900
John.Talbert@oberlin.edu
Read More



Vocal Studies

Thomas Bandy

Opera Coach/Musical Coordinator of Opera Productions Phone: (440) 775-8200
Thomas.Bandy@oberlin.edu
Read More

Salvatore Champagne

Associate Professor of Singing Phone: (440) 775-8175
Salvatore.Champagne@oberlin.edu
Read More

Kendra Colton

Assistant Professor of Singing Phone: (440) 775-8240
Kendra.Colton@oberlin.edu
Read More

Jonathon Field

Associate Professor of Opera Theater
Director of Opera Theater Productions
Phone: (440) 775-8206
Jonathon.Field@oberlin.edu
Read More

Philip Highfill

Professor of Accompanying and Coaching
Director, Oberlin Arts & Sciences Orchestra
Phone: (440) 775-8226
Philip.Highfill@oberlin.edu
Read More

Tim LeFebvre

Associate Professor of Singing Phone: (440) 775-8213
Timothy.LeFebvre@oberlin.edu
Read More

Howard Lubin

Opera Coach/Musical Coordinator of Opera Productions Phone: (440) 775-8200
Howard.Lubin@oberlin.edu
Read More

Daune Mahy

Professor of Singing Phone: (440) 775-8212
Daune.Mahy@oberlin.edu
Read More

Lorraine Manz

Associate Professor of Singing
Director, Division of Vocal Studies
Director, Otto B. Schoepfle Vocal Arts Center
Phone: (440) 775-8209
Lorraine.Manz@oberlin.edu
Read More

Katherine Perkowski

Opera Theater Stage Manager/Assistant Director Phone: (440) 775-8200
Katie.Perkowski@oberlin.edu
Read More

Marlene Rosen

Professor of Singing Phone: (440) 775-8224
Marlene.Rosen@oberlin.edu
Read More

Sally Stunkel

Associate Professor of Opera Theater Phone: (440) 775-8227
Sally.Stunkel@oberlin.edu
Read More



Woodwinds, Brass and Percussion

Lee Allen

Assistant Professor of Trombone Phone: (440) 775-8262
lee.allen@oberlin.edu
Read More

Richard Hawkins

Fenelon B. Rice Associate Professor of Clarinet Phone: (440) 775-8234
Richard.Hawkins@oberlin.edu
Read More

Dennis Nulty

Visiting Teacher of Tuba Phone: (440) 775-8200
Read More

Roland Pandolfi

Professor of Horn Phone: (440) 775-8246
Roland.Pandolfi@oberlin.edu
Read More

Roy Poper

Associate Professor of Trumpet
(On Leave Fall 2013)
Phone: (440) 775-8222
Roy.Poper@oberlin.edu
Read More

Mike Rosen

Director, Division of Woodwinds, Brass and Percussion
Professor of Percussion
Phone: (440) 775-8271
Michael.Rosen@oberlin.edu
Read More

George Sakakeeny

Professor of Bassoon Phone: (440) 775-8242
George.Sakakeeny@oberlin.edu
Read More

Alexa Still

Associate Professor of Flute Phone: (440) 775-8260
Alexa.Still@oberlin.edu
Read More

Robert Walters

Professor of Oboe and English Horn Phone: (440) 775-8211
Robert.Walters@oberlin.edu
Read More