Summer Programs

The Conservatory of Music offers a series of music workshops and institutes during the summer months. Our programs are open to high school and college students, teachers, and accomplished amateurs with exceptional opportunities who want to develop performance and teaching skills, expand repertoire, build technique, and generally enjoy music-making and performances in a supportive and collegial atmosphere.

Participants study with members of the conservatory’s distinguished resident and guest faculty and have full use of the conservatory’s exceptional facilities. Participants may also be eligible to receive college credit.


APPLICATION DETAIL  ♦  DAILY SCHEDULES  ♦  EXPENSES  ♦  TRAVEL & VISITING  ♦  
HOUSING & DINING  ♦  CONTACT

COMPETITION – VIOLIN, 2015
THE THOMAS & EVON COOPER COMPETITION
Thursday, July 23 - Saturday, August 1
Application deadline: April 15
site to be updated soon

PERCUSSION 
OBERLIN PERCUSSION INSTITUTE
Sunday, July 26 - Saturday, August 1
Application deadline: May 1

DOUBLE BASS
THE MILT HINTON INSTITUTE FOR STUDIO BASS
next offered in 2016:
Sunday, June 12 - Sunday, June 19, 2016

PIANO
COOPER PIANO FESTIVAL
Thursday, July 30 - Friday, August 7
Application deadline: May 15

ELECTRONIC MUSIC
SONIC ARTS WORKSHOP
COMPOSING ELECTRONIC & COMPUTER MUSIC
Sunday, June 14 - Sunday, June 21
Application deadline: April 10

TRUMPET
OBERLIN TRUMPET WORKSHOP
Sunday, June 21 - Wednesday, July 1
Application deadline: May 1

FLUTE
OBERLIN FLUTE ACADEMY
Wednesday, June 24 - Sunday, June 28
Application deadline: April 10

TROMBONE
OBERLIN TROMBONE WORKSHOP
Sunday, June 21 - Friday, June 26
Application deadline: May 1

HISTORICAL PERFORMANCE
BAROQUE PERFORMANCE INSTITUTE
Sunday, June 21 - Sunday, July 5
Theme: TBA
Application deadline: May 1
site to be updated soon

ORGAN
ACADEMY FOR HIGH SCHOOL ORGANISTS
Sunday, June 21 - Friday, June 26
Application deadline: May 1

VOICE
OBERLIN IN ITALY
Thursday, June 11 - Tuesday, July 21
Application deadline: December 1, 2014

VOCAL ACADEMY FOR
HIGH SCHOOL STUDENTS
Friday, July 24 - Sunday, August 2
Application deadline: March 15

GUEST PROGRAMS
Credo Chamber Music
The Sphinx Performance Academy

APPLICATION DETAIL  ♦  DAILY SCHEDULES  ♦  EXPENSES 
TRAVEL & VISITING  ♦  HOUSING & DINING  ♦  CONTACT